Conscious Overeating

April 8, 2008 at 11:04 pm (overeating)

My mother-in-law and I went out for lunch today. We went to one of my favorite restaurants, but one that I only go to with her. I had my usual: tofu curry, and hot and sour soup. Because I was eating consciously, I didn’t eat the little baby ears of corn in my soup. I’ve discovered that I don’t really like them. And I didn’t eat the onions in my curry, as I don’t really care for onions. But about 3/4 of the way through the curry, I knew that I was going to eat every bite of it, even if I got full. Luckily, I only ate a couple of bites over full, but I did finish my plate, and I enjoyed every single bite of my lunch. I didn’t just enjoy it, I really savored most bites. It’s really hard to chew tofu 20 times, so I just slowly chewed it to oblivion.

So why did I do that? Why did I consciously chose to overeat, albeit only a few bites? The only thing I can think of is that it was tasting so good, I didn’t want to let the taste go. I do, however, think if I’d have had a significant amount of food left, I would have been able to leave some of it then. I have enjoyed not feeling stuffed. It’s been weeks since I’ve been uncomfortable because of food, and I’m really appreciating that I don’t do that to my body anymore.

Today is Day 19 of mindful eating and I’m jazzed about the changes that have come into my life because of this new way of eating. My relationship with food is so much more healthy, and I’m so much more sane around food. Most days, food doesn’t have control over me anymore. Most days, most meals, I have control over food. Even days like today, when I chose to overeat, it’s a conscious choice now, not a compulsion.

I didn’t eat again until I was hungry, and then I was hungry for lemons. I had one left, so I sat down with it and puckered up. I really enjoyed it. Even though one lemon doesn’t do much to fill a person up, it’s amazingly satisfying, because there is so much taste and texture to it.

Now, I’m just waiting for my husband to get home from work so we can go to Denny’s for a bite. I’m about to go on a month long vacation, and there will be no Denny’s where I am, so I need to get my Denny’s fix in before I go!

Leave a Reply

